Skip to main content


  • Iowa State University physicist Paul Canfield, who develops new materials with novel properties, has received a five-year, $1.7 million Moore Materials Synthesis Investigators award from the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation of Palo Alto, Calif.

    Canfield and his research team will use the funds to further their work in the discovery of new electronic and magnetic compounds – often in single-crystal form – and the study of their electrical, magnetic and thermal properties. These scientific discoveries can lead to new technologies or products that improve the lives of people around the world.

    Read the full article

  • Michael C. Tringides received the 2017 Theodore E. Madey Award from the American Vacuum Society for his excellence in internationally collaborative research.

    Tringides, a scientist at the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Ames Laboratory and a professor of physics and astronomy at Iowa State University explores how atoms move on surfaces. The process is essential in making nanotechnologies, such as computer transistors of much smaller size.

    According to Tringides, a computer’s speed depends on how far the electrons have to go across transistors. Current computer transistors may have hundreds of atoms along a linear dimension. Tringides hopes his work will be used to reduce that to only two or three.

    Read more at the news release

  • NSF and DOE honors for Rebecca Flint

    Flint, who is also a U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Ames Laboratory associate, will receive a $500,000 grant for her research in stabilizing “spin liquids.” A spin liquid is a state of matter with properties that remain unorganized even at low temperatures. “We live in one universe with one set of rules for protons and electrons,” Flint said, who also earned a $750,000 Early Career Award from the DOE this month. “I want to find whole new little universes.”

    Read more at the press release

Subscribe to RSS Feed